Look away now!

Look away now if your not at all interested in writing, I don’t want to bore you with the good stuff  I found today!

I have discovered a curious website that I think could be quite useful for writers, authors, bloggers etc.

You probably already use phrases and expressions in your writing everyday, but I  recently realised just how much a handy phrase or expression can save you in terms of words and effort, by cutting out needless explanation and over-amplification and getting to the point – fast! Especially if its dialogue.  A phrase can be a quick way to sum up or emphasise what your character is driving at, or feeling. After all, you don’t want to “go around the houses” when it comes to getting your point across to the reader! If you are like me you sometimes get stuck. You know there is that perfect phrase or expression out there to sum up exactly what you are trying to say… but you just can’t “put your finger on it” at the time.

I could go on and on about this… but I know you’re pretty smart and I don’t want to “Labour the point!” so here’s the link…

“expressions and sayings”

And one more… for all you literature geeks like me. This website is more heavy duty than the first and I haven’t figured it out completely yet, but it looks good so far. Let me know your thoughts…

“Phrase finder

#writing #sayings

Also…

Excuse me for being random! but someone I know sent me this rather lovely photo which I promised to publish ages ago. I admit I had forgot about it, but here it is! I think it was worth the wait…

Alfred Duff river by night

Leave a Reply

